Correcting Kathy Weppner

Long time listeners of the show will remember when Kathy Weppner, a conservative talk show host from Buffalo, NY, was my guest on the show in 2010. Ms Weppner is running as a Republican for the House of Representatives in the 26th District of New York against incumbent Democratic Representative Brian Higgins. At the time Weppner hosted a show on WBEN called “Straight Talk”. I contacted her about coming on my show after I heard her conduct several interviews with Orly Taitz and do nothing but toss Orly soft ball questions. Ms Weppner bolted from the show after being questioned rather intensely by caller Georgetwon JD about the fact that Weppner was just repeating claims Olry Taitz had made in her lawsuits about how one could obtain a Hawaiian birth certificate without having been born there.

Ms Weppner was also completely wrong in her assertions that the “short form” birth certificate that President Obama had released in 2008 was not a valid birth certificate and could not be used for obtaining a passport. It was obvious that Weppner had accepted claims by Birthers like Orly Taitz without doing the least bit of fact checking.

When Weppner announced in March that she would run she began trying to scrub her Birther past from the Internet. However, some of her Birther past and inflammatory statements about gays and immigrants began to surface. In an article by reporter Jerry Zremski in the Buffalo News on March 22 some of the statements from her interview on my show were mentioned:

The research shows that Weppner took a keen interest in the “birther” movement, which raised questions about whether Obama was born in the United States and, therefore, eligible to be president.

Weppner hosted Orly Taitz, one of the founders of the movement, on her radio show, and questioned the credibility of Obama’s birth certificate both on that show and on a 2010 Blog Talk Radio appearance in which Weppner said: “What Obama’s campaign has put out is not a birth certificate.”

Weppner was referring to a short-form birth certificate issued by the Hawaii Department of Health and released by Obama’s campaign in 2007. Obama later asked Hawaii for a copy of a longer version of his birth certificate and then posted it to the White House website in 2011 in hopes of quelling the controversy over his qualifications.

Asked about her involvement in the Birther movement and whether she still believes that Obama may not have been born in America, Weppner wrote: “That question has already been decided.”

Weppner was not happy with Zremski’s article and posted a rebuttal on her campaign web site. She also posted an email exchange she had with Zremski prior to the publication of the article. She claimed she was ambushed by me and that “I was asked to appear on the blog radio radio to explain how I was transformed from talk show caller to host”. She continues “My appearance ended after about 15 minutes when I hung up realizing that I had been deceived and the real purpose of the interview was to ambush me with controversy.

Either Ms Weppner has a poor memory or she remembered what she wanted to talk about not what I said was the purpose of the interview. I still have the email exchange that began with me contacting her via the contact from on her show page. This is what I wrote:

I heard your interesting interview with Dr. Taitz today. I do a Blog Talk Radio Show and you would make a very exciting guest for my show. The show runs on Tuesday night at 9 PM ET. If you are interested please reply via my email. I cover the eligibility question very extensively. Regards, RC

I presume that it was clear what I wanted to discuss on the interview. I never mentioned anything about her transition from talk show caller to host.

Just as Weppner was wrong about Hawaiian law and Hawaiian birth certificates she is wrong about her claim as to why she was invited on my show.

Here is the complete audio of the Reality Check Radio show with Kathy Weppner that aired on January 19, 2010:

This entry was posted in Birth Certificate, Birthers, RC Radio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Correcting Kathy Weppner

  1. sternf says:

    Kathy Weppner a liar? Shocking!

    She was a birther. She should own it. What does she have to be ashamed of?

  2. I read a couple of local articles on the race and it sounds like Weppner is not being given much of a chance. That is a good thing. She would make a terrible representative. She would be a bad as Steve Stockman.

  3. defender says:

    You won’t ever make trouble for my friend Orly Taitz with your propaganda. Taitz is our countryman and we will defend her from people like you. BEWARE of your attacks on Taitz.

  4. Thomas Brown says:

    Oh, noes! We’re SO ASKEERT! Hey ‘defender,’ your ‘friend’ is a psychotic, hate-filled pimple on the ass of this great country. She says things every day that are 100% counter to our laws and Constitution. That’s why we mock and deride her, and expose her anti-American idiocies… because we love America. For no other reason.

    And take this to heart: the days when you could intimidate liberals like me are over. How about you BEWARE signing on to a belief system based on utter garbage? And BEWARE messing with me or MY FRIENDS. Trust me, it would not turn out well.

    Make like a shepherd and wake the flock up.

  5. Orly Taitz is a man? You’ve heard it first Defender says Orly is a man!

Leave a Reply (Please see the RC Radio Blog comment policy). Your first comment will be moderated

