I am still here!

One of my favorite cartoons

I noticed I haven’t written anything for months so I thought I would check in with any readers I might have left. We were in the path of Hurricane Ian but managed to get through w/o any damage and were in one of the few neighborhoods that never lost power or Internet. I am thankful for that. No the thanks does not go to any imaginary being who randomly spared me but ruined other peoples lives but instead to the engineers and craftsmen who built my house and designed a hurricane resistant electrical distribution system with almost everything installed underground.

I must have started and stopped writing at least five articles about Trump and how crazy the right wing in this country is but every time I started they did something even worse. One article was going to include things right wing nuts pretend to be true that aren’t. I still might finish that one when I get time. There is a long list of things they believe are true that are false so it will take some time.

The news of course has been dominated (at least until Hurricane Ian popped up) with two main stories: The January 6th hearings and revelations about just how much coordination there was between Trump, his minions and some really dangerous groups like the Oath Keepers and the Proud Boys. I think it is clear how close we actually came to losing our Democracy.

The other big story is Trump’s theft of thousands of government documents many of them which were top secret and classified. Now a Trump appointed moron of a Judge named Aileen “Loose” Cannon has inserted herself and is trying every way she can to prevent the DoJ from doing its job and investigating what was stolen and who had access to it. I think this is the most blatant miscarriage of justice we have seen since Bush v Gore.

Speaking of miscarriage of justice the Supreme Court, which is now packed with conservative Christo-fascist judges who lied their asses off in their confirmation hearings by claiming they would never overturn Roe v Wade have done exactly that and taken away the fundamental right of every woman in America to control their own bodies. They should all be removed from the bench but we know that is not going to happen. Now Chief Justice Roberts and head Christo-fascist Justice Samuel Alito are both whining about people questioning the legitimacy of the Court. In reality it is they who have pissed away any legitimacy this court might of had.

Next this activist and dangerous gang of holier than thou thugs are going to go after voting rights, legitimate elections, affirmative action and birth control. In many ways the Court represents more of a threat to Democracy than Trump. That’s because Trump is never going to be elected again (at least legitimately) and this Court is going to be around a long time.

I am sorry to be such a Debbie Downer but honestly I have never been more pessimistic about our future in my lifetime. However, that does not mean I am giving up. This country is worth saving but we need to be realistic about what we are up against. As someone who battled the lying, racist, Birthers from mid 2008 to the end of the Obama administration I know how deluded and intractable conservatives can be. I have come to realize there never was much of a distinction between Republicans and Birthers. They were largely one and the same. Trump just made it OK for them to bare their racism and hatred.

Please check in with a comment and let us know how you are doing and what your views are on where this country is headed.

About Reality Check

I have been following politics since my teens a very long time ago. I began debunking the Birther myths in late 2008. I commented an Birther sites and also fine sites like Obama Conspiracy Theories and Politijab. In 2009 I noticed that even though there were probably a dozen Birther radio programs not a single anti-Birther program existed. Therefore I started "Land of the Obots" on Blog Talk Radio. I later changed the name to Reality Check Radio. The program ran weekly until sometime around 2016. This blog was originally begun to provide a place to discuss the radio show, my guests, and topics covered on the show.
This entry was posted in Birthers, Trump and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am still here!

  1. COMALite J says:

    Hey, long time no chat! Good to see you active.

  2. The four Christo-fascist thugs + CJ John Roberts on the Supreme Court begin a new term of dismantling our democracy by hearing oral arguments on a case that will gut what’s left of the Voting Rights Act. On Twitter @rickhasen is live Tweeting coverage of the session.

Leave a Reply (Please see the RC Radio Blog comment policy). Your first comment will be moderated